AwardsTitle SMABézier Award

In honor of the late Pierre Bézier and with the approval of his family, the Bézier Award was established in 2007 by the Solid Modeling Association (SMA) to recognize individuals or teams who have made long lasting contributions in Solid, Geometric, or Physical Modeling or in their Applications.

Solid, geometric and physical modeling have matured and came a long way since Pierre Bézier’s pioneering work in the 1950’s, resulting in a rich set of theories, mathematics and algorithms that define and manipulate representations of physical objects, of their properties, and of associated abstractions. These representations are intimately tied to processes (such as physical simulation, design, manufacturing, and analysis) and to application domains (automotive, aerospace, bio-medical, graphic arts, etc). These representations and the associated algorithms support the creation, exchange, simulation, visualization, animation, interrogation, and annotation of the digital models of the objects and their evolution.

Pierre Bézier

bezier-award-picPierre Bézier is one of the founders of the fields of solid, geometric and physical modeling. Beginning with his work on representing curves, and continuing through his work on one of the first CAD/CAM systems at Renault (UNISURF), Pierre Bézier led the transformation of industrial design and manufacturing, through mathematics and computing tools, into computer aided design and three dimensional modeling.

He made contributions to computer control, interactive free-form curve and surface design and 3D milling for manufacturing clay models and masters.

Bézier’s success exemplifies how a problem driven approach can ignite a flurry of research accomplishments in mathematics and computer science and lead to a profound transformation of a major segment of the industry.




Nomination Procedure

We invite nominations for the Bézier award of individuals or groups who have made major contributions to the field of Solid Modeling or to the broader field of CAD/CAM. These contributions may include: (1) theoretical research results and innovative paradigms, algorithms, or representations disseminated through peer reviewed publications or educational media, (2) pioneering implementations of public domain software, commercial products, or kernels for Solid Modeling, and (3) service and development of the Solid Modeling field.

Nominations can be submitted at any time to the Chair of the SMA or every year to the Chair of that year’s Bézier award jury in response to the yearly call for nomination that is emailed to the SMA members. Each nomination should be submitted using the Bézier award nomination form. Although separate forms can be submitted by different nominators for the same candidate, we encourage the submission of a single form co-signed by several nominators.
See the Procedures and nomination form (below) for the current year.


Each year, the chair of the Bézier award jury is nominated by the SMA Executive Board and invited to select at least 6 additional jury members. The jury reviews all recent nominations and also outstanding nominations from previous years and votes to select the recipient for the current year as well as the outstanding candidates whose nominations should be considered for the subsequent years.


The recipient of the Bézier award is announced at that year’s SPM conference and invited to deliver an acceptance lecture during the conference. The conference registration and a capped amount of travel expenses for the recipients are covered by the funds donated by the industrial sponsors of the Bézier award.



The Bézier award program is sponsored by:

INTERIA Web Design & Development